Medicare is a type of coverage offered by the United States Government. It is a type of health insurance primarily for the following Americans:

  • People 65 years or older.
  • People under the age of 65 with serious disabilities.

 Medicare is divided into three main categories.

Part A

  • Part A is Hospital Coverage. It is primarily for inpatient hospital care, hospice, home healthcare, and skill nursing facilities.

Part B

  • Part B is Outpatient Coverage. It is primarily for doctor’s visits and services and outpatient hospital care and treatment. Part B also covers some preventive visits and treatments to prevent certain illnesses from further developing.

Part D

  • Part D is PDP or Prescription Drug Coverage. Part D coverage is offered through insurance carriers that have been approved by Medicare. Drug coverage helps make prescription drugs more affordable to the senior and disabled population.

Part C

  • Part C is a combination or Part A and Part B, and usually Part D. Medicare Advantage Plans or MA plans are offered through private insurance carriers, such as AARP Secure Horizons, Aetna, Blue Cross Blue Shield, and Humana and several other companies across the country. You have to elect to have Part C. Speak with your agent to learn if Part C is right for you.

Need help with finding out about plans in your state? Visit check your options to review the many different Medicare options in your area.